Narasimha on Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra

In India, many texts and knowledge systems, called Shastra (=complete).

Yoga Sutra of Patanjali is one Shastra. You have source, course and goal exposed.

First Pada: How to achieve Samadhi

Second Pada: How to practice that in life

Third Pada: What are the marks of the practice

Fourth Pada: What is the ultimate result?

Every time there’s a new term, Patanjali explains it and then goes further

Patanjali’s approach is from mind, psychological

200 years ago, the world was fait-orientated (religions). Then, science, the analytical took over and very little possibility of emotions or faith

The world has become mechanical, human being a machine

Patanjali’s system: balancing the rational and the emotional mind

The scientist way is reductionist: in the end, there’s nothing > < Patanjali’s system goes towards the Infinite

Nowadays science is measuring yoga and the philosophical systems too

In Sadhana Pada, first sutra Tapahsvadhyayeshvarapranidhanani kriyayogah,

TAPAH means penance, to go through a lot of troubles to modify yourself. You burn yourself in many ways to purify.

SVADHYAYA is self analysis and self-understanding where ‘I’ is not pure and how should I correct it. See how your practice which is a progress by tapah influences. Know your defects and study yourself. What is the measure? Only those who have gone the path before, know. Their information – the scriptures tell.


Different kind of yogas. Different yogis depending on how they feel and what they do. Unity of emotion and action:

Karma Yoga (Action)  – Tapas

Jnana Yoga (Knowledge) – Svadhyaya

Bhakti Yoga (Devotion) – Ishvara

Any action always creates some dirt.

Jayashri 033Photo Bill Brundell

1 thought on “Narasimha on Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra

  1. The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali are one of the six darshanas of Hindu or Vedic schools and, alongside Bhagavad-Gita and Gherand Samhita, are a milestone in the history of Yoga. Yoga-Sutra are a set of aphorisms (sutras), which are short and easy to memorize. They are part of an ancient oral tradition, which means you don’t learn by reading and reasoning alone but you listen and chant. Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra, which outlines the sovereign path of Raja Yoga, is composed of a total of 195 sutras or aphorisms. These sutras are structured around four padas or chapters as follows:
    Samadhi Pada (51 sutras)
    Sadhan Pada (55 sutras)
    Vibhuti Pada (55 sutras)
    Kaivalya Pada (34 sutras)
    More at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s