Narasimha on the domains of awareness

Tasya saptadha prantabhumih prajna (Yoga Sutra, II.27.)

Chitta can have 7 domains of awareness.

Tapas Svadhyaya Ishvara Pranidhana Kriyayogah (Yoga Sutra, II.1.) – this sutra comprises the practice of yoga. It is to get away of conditionings and patterns of the mind. What to do to achieve that? Tapas Svadhyaya Ishvara Pranidhana, for the purification of the body and senses.

A human being has 5 senses to go out to perceive the object, 5 senses assisting the object by the Seer + 5 motor organs to know the object better.

The inner conscience consists of Buddhi, Chitta, Manas and Ahamkara.

Ahamkara (ego) is basically genetic, it defines your personality. It evaluates everything with stored experiences. Memory + present sensation = individual reaction.

To know object objectively, senses must be perfect, otherwise Viparyaya (wrong knowledge).

Feeling becomes generic, instead of personal (I want because I like or I don’t want because I don’t like – selfish reasons) -> you accept personal pain, because it’s for a larger purpose. ‘I-ness’ is associated with objects. ‘Am-ness’ means you know you exist, but ‘I’ doesn’t exist.

The domains of awareness are:

1. Understanding what brings you pain –  and then reject it.

Information when understood becomes knowledge. But to pass from knowledge to awareness is not easy. You know that smoking is not good for you, but still you smoke. Gradually you start avoiding misery.

2. Understanding of what is the source of each misery or of a happiness that ends to a misery. Joining + separation necessary, otherwise misery. Not allowing attachment or obsession. Know how to create harmony.

3. How to withdraw the mind from the senses? The Sadhana Pada speaks about this.

4. You stop the mind running to places. You control it. You take care of consciousness. You are not temptated by external things.

5. You feel self-satisfaction. Your action becomes selfless.

6. Your consciousness becomes Sattvic. Then you can’t be unrighteous. Whatever you do or say is for the evolution of yourself and others.

7. Atmasthiti = the Self is distinct from the body and the mind.  I-ness disappears, am-ness remains.

When you are close to Samadhi, time flies in meditation. When you are far away from it, you have thoughts, you are waiting for time to pass and time feels long.

Any happiness is Sattvic. When you start to analyze it, you lose it. It becomes mental.

Our core center is happiness – Ishvara. When two happinesses meet, we feel it. Instability makes us look for stability. Once we find the most stable entity in us, we don’t want to go out: Let Thy Will be done.

Intellectually structured patterns vanish and appears what’s the most appropriate solution, spontaneous, right action (Rtambhara tatra prajna, Yoga Sutra, I.48.) and the gap between input and output becomes smaller.

If we go to the source in the Darshanas (spiritual systems), each of them speak of the same thing specifically, from one point of view, not universally (Pratibhad va sarvam, Yoga Sutra, III.34. ). All of them are true. All the religions have same ingredients, but one ingredient is dominating. In Hindou religion devotion and surrendering are dominating.

2013-12-07 13.49.29

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s