Narasimha on Kriya Yoga


Sadhana Pada 

Kriya Yoga = Tapah, Svadhyaha, Ishvara Pranidhana

2. sutra: Samadhibhavanarthah klesatanukaranarthasca

The practice means culturing the body, the nervous system, the mind, the emotions to become an evolution orientated system.  You control the growth. The growth has to be positive.

Make yourself grow as you should grow = we are genetically coded and we can either distort or enhance the code. If we don’t understand the system (Svadhyaya is self-understanding), we may harm it. We should be able to allow the genetic code to open, to flower. How do you catalyze so that the genetic information is not distorted? This is your study.

Analytical, emotional, physical, sensorial systems are independent. They have to operate smoothly even when they interact. If in interaction there’s a contradiction, there will be a conflict and the individual suffers. Each system should be flexible. People differ in that some are drawn to distroy themselves, some drawn to grow.

Why Kriya Yoga?

1) To reach Samadhi, internal total stability which is usually dormant. You can also say that Samadhi is alert restfulness. To reach it, you go through many levels. First by Tapah you stop the external input. When external disturbances stop, you become aware of your internal disturbances.

SamadhiBHAVANartha, bhavana means to be stable in a particular state. Here it means the capability of being naturally in Samadhi, no forcing.

2) To reduce the Kleshas which are imbedded in us all. Example: We are never really happy. When we feel sadness, we think it’s never-ending. When we feel happiness, we think it ends quickly.

3. sutra: Avidyasmitaragadvesabhiniveshah kleshah

This is the classification of the reasons of why we’re never happy. These kleshas make us restless, there’s always ups and downs.

Avidya – We suffer when we don’t know how to handle. We suffer also when we don’t know what all our body and intelligence can do. We don’t want to know. We are afraid to know ourselves. By yoga we gain more CANs than CANTs. Man usually creates routines, timetibles, mental patterns that are safe. This inhibits his full potential.

Asmita – You associate yourself with other things and it makes you restricted in your mind. We are ready to be miserable to fit the society, we try not to show our faults.

Raga – We are attached to material and sensorial things. Out of that the fear that we can’t live without something. Example: you are tired and your friend gives you coffee as a remedy. Next time you feel a little tired, you take coffee again. Or you take coffee even when not tired. Then it becomes more sophisticated. You want a certain kind of coffee with certain milk, sugar…it becomes more complicated and you more attached.

Dvesa – We dislike things that are there. Example: I want to have the body of Mr India. I don’t have that kind of body. I hate my body.

Abhinivesa – Any change creates fear. Coming to India is a big change to a Westerner. A flexible system adapts itself to many new things. In a crucial situation, you will know your attachments (fears).

When the Kleshas disappear, Samadhi comes. Two things happen at the same time. Samadhi is quietude, Kleshas inquietude.

The ideal is to have a flexible system and interaction between the Kleshas. Example: If you are used to get a 8 hour sleep, you might be attached to that. If you can’t get it, you become scared. A flexible system means that you can control it in a situation, e.g. if you need to prepare yourself for an exam, you would work more and sleep less. You can decide, you can adapt. A rigid system can’t.